Taking it easy = tap dancing

Last night I was having shortness of breath. I know I am hypersensitive to symptoms so I was trying to relax and not worry about it. After about an hour and a half when it didn’t go away Rudy convinced me to call my doctor to see what she wanted me to do. I was calling of course at 5:30 on a Friday evening so she was off. The oncologist on-call told me I needed to go to the emergency room to get checked out. Well that didn’t sound like fun but I knew that if I stayed home I would just worry.

I called a friend to take the boys so they didn’t have to worry. Packed some magazines and our phone chargers, Rudy and I were prepared to be waiting for a while. We were mistaken. Have I mentioned lately how much I like my hospital. I got to the emergency counter and they take me back right away to triage. I am sure the others sitting in the waiting room waiting were wondering while I got the first class treatment. In triage I was again seen right away, got my vitals taken and a few minutes later I was wheeled to my own private room. As soon as I had the gown on (wrong way at first) and we got the tv on, the doctor and nurse Better came to see me. He talked to me, ordered some initial tests and said we will go from there. Within minutes I was having an EKG done while staying in my room and in the bed. Next they came and took some blood, she told me it would take about an hour to get the results. Finally, I was taken just down the hall for a chest x-ray. We got back to the room, I called my sister and just got her on the phone when the doctor came back to say I was all good. EKG, blood, and X-rays were all good. He said I was overdoing it and that my body is just not as healthy yet as I think it is, I got tired. He said I needed to rest this weekend.

“What about my tap performance!” I asked him. “Can I still dance?” He smiled and said that I could but other than that I should take it easy. Then Betty came back in and talked to us for a while because we became friends quickly. She said we were free to go. An hour and a half after getting to the hospital we were walking out 🙂 That is some great service.

I called my friend Jill to let her know we were coming back to Cheverly but she insisted on keeping the boys so we could rest. Very nice. So after sleeping in today I was feeling much better and ready to DANCE!

Yep, today was my first performance since high school. I have been doing a tap class as a way to keep moving and I just enjoy it. I have missed dancing and am having a lot of fun doing it. I am not as good as I was but I am still learning. In my class I am the youngest dancer. This has been my first semester with them and was pretty nervous about today. There was one dance that we all just learned and got it down pretty good, it is nice but not too hard. The second dance folks in the class have been doing for a couple of years. I have done it only for the last 3 classes, well and then today. I really like the dance, just wish I knew it better. I figured I would just go out there smile and do my best. Then I found out we were the second group to go on stage. I wanted more time. But then decided it was better to just get it over. BUT THEN the first group to go on were these kids about 13 years of age. Oh my goodness. They rock. It was 3 girls and 2 boys I think. They were amazing! Of course I didn’t want to follow them but we did. We did the dance, I messed up a little in the middle, and the audience cheered us on the whole way. If was tons of fun! Then we did the second dance that I knew we could do. But man some of those other dancers were some of the most amazing tap dancers I have ever seen. For $5 to get in the audience (which was packed) got a great show.

So know I am back home with my flowers up on my fire-place from my family. Rudy, the boys, mom, and Chris all came to the show. I had a fan club. I think I was the only one that got flowers. It was such a great day and I am so glad that they came to support me. I think my past dance friends would be proud of me and of course our dance teacher, Janice Holst.

I still can’t stop smiling. Have a great weekend! xoxo Jamie

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. beanercooks
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 09:32:21

    That’s awesome! It feels so uplifting to dance again doesn’t it?

    Reply

  2. jodiwatts
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 01:47:59

    I’m very proud of you for taking a tap class!

    Reply

Leave a comment